Contradictions

Well, irony of ironies, I just saw on my main blog page “Far From Home” that I wrote the following:

And now I am free to crave.  Craving is good – it helps us appreciate things and people more.  I know what I miss and I can better savor life’s blessings.

If you read my last post, I said the exact opposite.  I remarked that craving is greed.
I am some kind of waffler, huh?  Despite the fact that there are probably three or more years between when I had these two thoughts, I still understand and agree with both of them.  How can that be?
I’d like to know your thoughts on this.  My initial conclusion is that while going without something we love can help us enjoy it more once we get it, we have to be very careful not to let that “missing” get in the way of us enjoying what we have right now.  Like seeing a crocus emerge from the melting snow.  I love that every year because I haven’t seen it for a  full year. But anticipating the crocus didn’t hamper my love for cozy winter evenings or leaves falling in October.  The seasons of life are for living NOW, not sitting and waiting for tomorrow.
IMG_0611
2 thoughts on “Contradictions

  1. That is a funny irony, but I really do get both points. We are supposed to live in the world but not of the world. We are supposed to crave heaven but not at the expense of missing life’s blessings.

    I think the real irony is that both parts of the irony are true!

  2. I get both of your points! I tend to think that a simple craving can be good, but when the craving goes so deep that it turns into covetousness is when it turns our hearts.

Leave a Reply

